Eat, Pray, Love Inspiration–Pray

Meditation.

I hesitate to say that I kind of dismissed meditation as a healthy practice in my own spiritual life until I listened to the audiobook of Eat, Pray, Love on a car trip.  I know, it seems cliche to be inspired by a bestselling book where the author was given a large advance to do something that is supposed to be deeply spiritual… but I feel like Elizabeth Gilbert’s experience in that realm was authentic.  Her description of her struggle in her meditation practice and her eventual results were riveting (Definitely worth a read or listen if you haven’t yet).  My curiosity was spiked and I wanted to learn more and explore more, but I never got around to it.

Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love

So, in honor of the movie coming out (going to see it soon!), this week I’m going to try some meditative practices and report back on my impressions.  I’m not quite sure where I will start, but I think that is part of the practice… getting to that point where you do something that works for you.

Until next time, om!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. klingus
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 00:28:17

    Staci, I just found this website. Apparently it DOES make one more healthy to meditate! 🙂 http://www.businessweek.com/lifestyle/content/healthday/642144.html

    -Kelly

    Reply

    • JOHE
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 00:34:09

      That’s really cool! When I started, I thought of it as being more of a spiritual health thing, but I’ve heard it does positive things for your blood pressure… now for your brain too. Def. reinforces that it is something to attempt.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Websites I like for what they give or I receive:

Search & Win

Archives

