Why Change Is So Hard: Self-Control Is Exhaustible | Fast Company

I came upon this article a few weeks ago.  I was waiting to share it, but now seemed an appropriate time to cover it because the last fews days have been crazy and my self-control went off the deep end.

Why Change Is So Hard: Self-Control Is Exhaustible | Fast Company.

The article talks about a study two groups of students who were put into a room with a bowl of radishes and cookies.  One group could eat the cookies and the other was told to abstain, but that they could eat the radishes.  Then each group was told to try to do a really hard task… the cookie eaters tried to complete the task for much longer than the radish eaters.  It was because they just didn’t have enough self-control left.

I definitely ran out of self control the past few days.  I had thrown all of my time and energy into my thesis and I hit a point where I couldn’t control myself any longer, even though I really wanted to.  I *might* have started crying in my advisors office when he told me I was doing well.  I couldn’t stop myself because I knew if I did, I would be wildly unsuccessful and my little tears would turn into sobs (Can I just say… horribly embarrassing.  I am in school to become a professional and I started crying because of stress in my bosses office?  Because he said I was doing well?).  I also might have dropped any control I had over food choices and gone the full junk food/candy/potato chips route.

While I am not proud of myself or my momentary lapses in control, it helps so much to know that my time, energy, patience, and self control are limited.  When we can’t admit to ourselves that we can only do so much, I think the breakdowns occur even more quickly or our resolutions get pushed to the wayside.

So breathe, give yourself a break, and know that you will have that control back soon enough.  It certainly helped me.  And now that I’m done with my work for now, I’m going to do something healthy and rewarding and eat some carrots.  They taste better when you aren’t stressed, you know?

Leave a Reply

Websites I like for what they give or I receive:

Search & Win

Archives

