Goalie

Welcome to October everyone!

This means it is time to report on last month’s goals and set up this month’s.

Reminder of September Goals:

  • Healthier Body:  Begin the 200 Squat challenge… again.
  • Healthier Mind:  Do a Sudoku puzzle every day.
  • Healthier Spirit:  Take five minutes to pray every day.
  • Healthier Food:  Incorporate a new whole grain in my diet every week.

So how did I do?  Well, not so great.  I should have thought more about my schedule when making my goals.  With two chapters of my thesis due and 8 days of work related travel at the beginning of the month, I got off on a bad start and it was hard to get back into the routine.

Report!

  • Healthier Body:  Begin the 200 Squat challenge… again.  I started off strong, then tapered off during my week of travel.  For the rest of the month, I’ve done about 5 squat workouts, but was terrible about recording them.  I will definitely be keeping up with the squats though, as even with my few workouts, I’m feeling and seeing the results.
  • Healthier Mind:  Do a Sudoku puzzle every day. I actually did really well on this challenge.  Probably because it was fun and easy to do anywhere, thanks to my iPhone.  I only missed three days out of the month.  I really enjoyed using it as a tool to wind down and refocus afterwards, although I’m not sure how much it helped my mental math skills.
  • Healthier Spirit:  Take five minutes to pray every day. Wow, outright fail.  I thought this one would be easy, but I kept forgetting.  However, I was much more aware of the prayer concerns of the people I know and love and prayed for their concerns on the days I remembered.  I think I would be more reminded if I had a written out list that I kept and looked at every day of prayer concerns.  I just need to get back into the routine.
  • Healthier Food:  Incorporate a new whole grain in my diet every week.  I only went to the grocery store 2 times the entire month and did not have a lot of time for exploratory cooking.  This was poor planning on my part.  I’m still excited to try more whole grains though, and I still have my bulk goods, so I’m going to try more this month.

Now for October goals.  As I mentioned before, this month I’ll be trying to use the website Health Month.  My goals are as follows:

  • Healthier Body:  Weight training 3x per week.  After walking around NYC last weekend, my shoulder was in excruciating pain.  And I am the only one to blame.  I’ve been slacking on strengthening and it needs to stop so I can survive all day in an office chair in the future.
  • Healthier Mind:  Finish drafts of all three chapters of my thesis.  Very personal, but I feel I can’t clear my head until these tasks are done, and they are eating me alive.  Now is the time to really buckle down.
  • Healthier Spirit:  Meditate three days a week.  I keep going back to meditation and that’s because I feel it calling to me.  Maybe with my health month “game”  I’ll be more likely to make it a priority.
  • Healthier Food:  Drink 64 glasses of water per week.  This one came about when my husband asked me why I hadn’t refilled the water filter and I realized I hadn’t had one drop of water or other fluid for two days.  It happens to me when it starts to get cold, as I don’t have any trouble drinking water during the summer.  Got to stay hydrated!  I’m using my nalgene bottle as a measuring device, as it holds 8 glasses of water.
Leave a Reply

Websites I like for what they give or I receive:

Search & Win

Archives

